soft. sharp.

hope is a thing with feathers,*
but she also have a beak.
she can fly,
she can bite.

come hither my sparrows,
my little arrows**
remind me that home is where you are.
teach me to fly,
teach me to die,
carry me home
or heaven bound.

up with me! up with me into the clouds!
for thy song, Lark, is strong;

up with me, up with me into the clouds!
singing, singing,
with clouds and sky about thee ringing,
lift me, guide me till i find
that spot which seems so to thy mind!***
i have much to learn from you,
wing’ed teacher.
to be soft
and sharp,
to fly,
to die,
to be

Hope.

*dickinson “hope is a thing with feathers”
** blake, so out of context here you have to look the poem up yourself. (did i mention that i took it way out of context?)
***wordsworth “to a sky-lark”

Leave a Reply

